How do you find the time?

This is a very common question that I hear, how do I find the time to post? It is a great question because really what do you think of when you read this, that I am sitting at my home office or my office at my company and having the free time to just sit and write, we will say for 30 minutes. Well I wish that were the case but it really isn’t and for most of us that wouldn’t be an option.

So how do we tackle the side “projects” outside of our full-time work and our family/house work? I recently heard a speaker state that there is always time and you shouldn’t make an excuse that you are too busy because it just means that you don’t have your priorities in the right order. While I agree with that comment I also don’t agree with it. We are humans, humans that sometimes want to get something done and sometimes are just too tired or overwhelmed to be able to follow through with the long to do lists. We pick and choose what that day or week will hold, what we will accomplish, and what we are fine letting pass us by.

So back to the original question, how do I find the time? I make the time..for me that means I write while on my phone, I write while I have a couple of minutes on the desktop, I write while my son is in the shower. No one post is just a full constant sitting, I don’t arrange for the time of complete dedication at one sitting I multi-task. If the laundry has a couple minutes left on it then I will pull out my phone and continue my posting, while my son is in the shower (like right now) I will hop on the computer and type a little bit. I want to find the time for you.

Over the years I have made excuse after excuse as to why I wasn’t pushing for the career or life goals that I wanted, there was always the thought that it would come later it would just land on my lap. Well 4 years ago I came to my senses and realized ya right this isn’t a movie so I pushed myself. I wanted more so I wanted to earn more. Yes I am still struggling my way through my career plan, changing it as I go but I am pushing through it. I have made some huge steps in my career in a very short amount of time and with that dedication I have found that people want help, they want my guidance. I am more than willing to share in my trial and tribulations, but how do I help the people who aren’t able to ask directly? So this is where I am. This blog was that answer. I want people to share it, I want people to reach out to me, I want to answer your questions that you didn’t even know to ask. So I find the time, for you.

My life isn’t easy but it isn’t a cake walk by any means. I have a full-time job (that I love), I have a husband, and a child, AND I run our house. Running the house means laundry, cleaning, cooking, homework, yard work, etc. So when I say I make the time I really do. I find those moments of silence that let me mind run wild and try to answer the questions that are spooling through your heads. I don’t write everyday, as you can see, but I try and write every week. If you want more ask for more and I will give you more.

So as the speaker said, I put my priorities in the right order. You are a priority, I am a priority.

Leave a Reply

